My Big Japanese Beech

Hi, it’s been a while since I’ve posted on my wordpress blog but that is set to change in the coming weeks.Some of my followers may have noticed that I’ve recently revived my Facebook bonsai Page Robert Nocher Bonsai. The Facebook page is great if I just want to share a phone picture of  some of my trees but it’s not so good if I want to tell more of a story about a trees development over time. So with that in mind I will be using both platforms to share information about my trees. If you only follow me on WordPress but not on Facebook, you may want to like my page inorder to keep up with all the updates.

ANYWAY, THE FIRST TREE I WANT TO TALK ABOUT IS MY BIG JAPANESE BEECH

It has been 7 years since I discovered this tree in a neighbors garden. At over 1 metre tall, it is by far, the largest tree in my collection.The reason I purchased the tree and how it looked at that time can be seen by clicking the link to my earlier post, This is Definitely Not a Shohin.

What I want to highlight in this post is the improvement in the ramification and general health of the tree in the years that I’ve been caring for it. The first picture shows the tree without its leaves shortly after I acquired it.Some of the original branches had died and others particularly in the apex were overgrown.

15

The second picture shows how the tree looked after all the unnecessary growth had been pruned away and that unnatural lump in the crown had been carved out.

18

 

The third picture was taken at the start of this year and shows the improvement in the ramification.

 

And this is how it looks at the moment in full leaf

Here are a few more pictures to help you appreciate the scale of this tree

 

3 thoughts on “My Big Japanese Beech

  1. What a pleasant surprice! Hadn’t seen a post for two years. With the global pandemic, I feared the worst. Excellent Beech and I look forwards to more posts. I’m not onn Facebook so I missed so much!

Leave a comment