Relaxing Afternoon with my Juniper Squamata

Today, in between the autumn showers and doing the final preparation of my trees for our club display at Bonsai Europa this weekend, I enjoyed a relaxing hour pruning and thinning this seasons growth on my juniper squamata.

Although it grows with great vigour that new growth is rarely placed where I would like it, so most of it has to be removed to maintain definition in the foliage pads and allow the winter light into the interior.

46

This is how it looked before today’s work

44

And this is how it looks at the moment. I will fully rewire it next year to open up the branches even more.

45

3 thoughts on “Relaxing Afternoon with my Juniper Squamata

Leave a Reply

