Hawthorn Shohin Update

My shohin hawthorns still have a long way to go before they become nice bonsai but I have had a big breakthrough this year. For the first time ever one of them has produced a flower.

Here it is. This little guy was raised as a branch cutting from the tree shown in the next picture.

11

This is the parent of the one above. No flowers yet but it’s beginning to take on a pleasing shape as a shohin.

12

Here are some recent pics of the others I have. All are shaping up nicely and should produce pleasing images in the coming years

14

13

 

15

As a footnote to my first hawthorn bonsai flowers, this mature specimen, which has been in the ground at the top of my garden for about 100 years is also going to flower this year. This will be the first time it has flowered too, to my knowledge.

16

17

Leave a comment