Separating a Cotoneaster Air Layer

Today I separated an air layer on cotoneaster, which I started last year.

1

I decided to air layer this tree because the lower trunk was quite straight and lacked taper and movement

35

Some of the new roots had grown down into the soil.

2

This how it looked after separation

3

In the next picture, the moss has been removed from the air layer and its ready for replanting. Hopefully the stump will sprout new shoots and I will have two trees to work on in the future.

4

Replanted in a bonsai pot and ready for the growing season. I will start feeding it in a few weeks time to promote new growth and I’ll probably remove the remaining thicker branches at the end of the season.

5

Unfortunately the larch which was started at the same time did not come through the winter, so I will have to try again with this species when I get some more suitable raw material.

32

One thought on “Separating a Cotoneaster Air Layer

Leave a Reply

