My Bonsai Year of 2016 in Pictures

Here we are again at the end of another  year and its time for me to review my bonsai journey over the past 12 months by means of a selection of my favourite photographs taken throughout the year.

The Ayr Winter Image Show in early January is the first gathering of the season for the Scottish bonsai community. Last year I took my Juniper Squamata along.

9

In February, I took the opportunity to photograph all of my best shohin trees in groups of deciduous and evergreen. Incidentally, the deciduous group received more Facebook likes than any photograph I’ve posted before or since.

1

2

At Last the Spring returned, my favourite time of the year. I have chosen the next picture to illustrate this, even though I normally cringe, when I see a picture of myself. This one isn’t too bad and it shows me doing what I love most in the place I most like to do it.

30

More new Spring growth

Japanese Larch

15

Hawthorn

19

Hawthorn

23

Prunus Kojo no Mai

31

In May we had the Scottish National Show, where 2 of my shohin trees received 1st and 2nd prize

My winning tree, Pinus Parviflora

11

An overview of our club display

4

2 of my favourite Larch compositions from the Ayr Club Display

33

32

In September Gerry and I went over to Northern Ireland to see the 30th anniversary show of the Northern Ireland Bonsai Society. I loved this show. It was inspiring to see so many native species that had been in cultivation as bonsai for many years

European Beech

22

Lonicera Nitida shohin

5

Large Witch Hazel

25

A gathering of friends

18

 

14

20

Summer and Autumn Colour

56

14

7

15

9

8

Once again, I would like to thank all of the people, who visit my blog and follow my journey, It’s you who make all the effort of doing it worthwhile.

.

10 thoughts on “My Bonsai Year of 2016 in Pictures

  1. Hi Robert, it’s nice to see your bonsai pictures of 2016 the trees are coming along nicely.I should take more pictures myself, it’s a good record of the progress made over the year. I see you have included two of my larch among your favourites, thanks very much. I will be showing the twin trunk larch at Ayr winter image show this January so you will get a chance to see it without leaves and all newly wired. I am not sure if you know yet, but we have to move our show this year as the hall we normally use is having some repairs done to remove dry rot.The new venue is The Savoy Park Hotel racecourse road Ayr I’m sure Jeff will let people know thru the SBA newsletter. I hope to see you there All the best Ian ( Ayr Bonsai Group )Ian.mcdougall@gmail.com

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Hi Robert, thanks for nice pictures at the winter image show. I was pleased with the turnout, the best yet.I agree it was a bit tight, but needs must as they say because our hall was unexpectedly having repairs. I think if this show is going from strength to strength we would need a bigger hall. I also noticed a few people beside yourself taking photos and maybe it would be a good idea to set up a photographic area with a nice backdrop(maybe next time ) All the best Ian Sent from my iPad ) >

Leave a Reply

