Shohin Yew Gets a New Pot

This shohin yew that I acquired last year was re-potted into its first bonsai pot today. When I first brought it home, I was concerned about the soil condition and the drainage in the pot. It was a little late in the season for a full re-pot so it was lifted out of its original pot and placed in the larger one you can see in the first picture with a fresh drainage layer of kiryu.

yew2

When I removed it from its pot today I could see that the upper layer of old soil was very decomposed and contained very few live fleshy roots. The soil in the lower layer was still in good condition and contained all of the live roots. I removed as much of the old soil as possible and re-potted it into this deep Zenigo pot. The tree will be rested now until it shows good signs of recovery

yew1

This is a lovely tree and I am looking forward to developing it further.

Leave a Reply

