Yamadori Scots Pine (First Styling)

This tree has been sitting on the benches at the back of my garden for about 12 years. I have done very little to it in that time because I have always considered it a difficult tree. Its best feature is undoubtedly the old flaky bark but some of its other characteristics are less than desirable. I thought initially that I might attempt to turn it into an informal upright but the lack of movement and taper in the lower trunk meant that I would never be entirely happy with that. Any attempt to bend the lower trunk would be at the expense of the beautiful bark

pine2

Lovely old bark

pine3

In the past few years I have developed an interest and appreciation for the literati style of bonsai and I have been thinking that the tall thin trunk on this specimen might be best suited to training in that style. The next picture shows the tree after an initial pruning and branch selection

pine4

This is how it is looking at the moment after further thinning and wiring. I am very pleased with the result at this stage and I am looking forward to seeing how it will develop in future years. Height 69cm (27 inches).

pine1

This is another pine of a similar height but not nearly as old that I plan to start work on next week

pine5

2 thoughts on “Yamadori Scots Pine (First Styling)

Leave a Reply

